The Beach


My Beach Baby

One of the hard parts of dealing with illness is realizing all the things you’re missing. This year, due to physical issues and medical bills, we decided to skip a trip to the beach. This was a very difficult decision for me, especially since we have David. I did not want him to miss the joy of seeing the “big sandbox!” I guess it’s natural for a mommy to feel guilty that her issues are causing her child to be denied some of the sweet pleasures of life.


My in-laws knew my desire, though, and arranged for us to go for just a day yesterday. How glorious! Is was fun watching David chase and be chased by the water, play in the sand with his granddaddy, pursue the seagulls, and eat fries on the boardwalk. I still had some issues that made the idea of a week at the beach seem unwise, but the day was worth it! And I didn’t really want to return home in the end!

Now I need to figure out the problem of sunburns. We did apply sunblock to David, but I should have done a reapplication. His dear little nose and a few blotchy spots on his face are evidence of my neglect! 😦 Feeling like a bad mommy right now! And a lobster-like one at that, for I had not put any sunblock on myself! Well, can’t say I didn’t get the full beach experience.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Beach

  1. Ed

    Glad you had such a good time. The sunburn will fade but the memories will last. –Naomi

Leave a comment